Box Wine Mom

So Vodka Dad requested some elaboration from me on the Wonderful Family Plan. I’m not sure how many of you really want all of the boring and intricate details, but one of the virtues of the internets is that with one click you can tend to your Farmville crops when someone’s self-absorbed blog starts to bore you. So here goes:

The plan was originally a five year + plan. I was to start college (again) and finish up the prerequisites to pharmacy school while waiting for Rex-Goliath to start kindergarten. Then the romantic notion of an additional child entered our minds post-honeymoon during the exuberant days of October (filled with hope for an Obama presidency) and the plan was thus forever changed. It was not practical to wait until Xavier started school, so the plan became a 3 years from Xavier’s birth plan. Over the past summer, due to some clichéd soul-searching, we decided to make it a 2-year plan. Go-time is here.

This semester, given a newborn in the house, I am only taking two classes: Pre-Calculus and Perspectives 301. Mind you, I’ve already taken Pre-Calc (and Calc, for that matter), but that was 10 years ago and I don’t remember a damn thing. Perspectives 301 is a planning-your-own-major course (mine will be Getting Into Pharmacy School in the Shortest Amount of Time Possible) and involves Tuesdays with Morrie as required reading, immediately making me suspicious of its content. Isn’t Tuesdays with Morrie so 1999? I shall also start studying for the PCAT (Pharmacy College Admissions Test) now, because there happens to be a slew of other courses that I can’t remember from College for Leah: Take I (three last names ago, BTW) – Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Anatomy & Physiology, Hamster Sexuality, etc. Despite the fact that this semester is only two official courses, I have already amassed over $300 in books, $600 in a computer and supplies, and a $100 calculator. Plus tuition. I sure hope Mr. Wonderful doesn’t read this blog.

Next semester will be hell. Hopefully y’all will be able to read about that. In addition to Microbiology, Calculus, and Anatomy & Physiology, I (we) will be shelling out a cool $1300 for me to take the PCAT review course in order to ensure that I obtain an acceptable score. The boys will have to go to daycare (!) – I didn’t really think that I would have to do that, but in for a penny, in for a pound. During the summer, I will take more Anatomy & Physiology and pay lots of money for the privilege of filling out endless applications and writing countless essays about Why I Want To Be A Pharmacist. The next year will be a little easier – a few light courses like Biochemistry to fulfill all of the credits I need to graduate, and then I should be done. Unless I actually get into pharmacy school. I somehow have a feeling that I will be in for a LOT of work then.

So that is the plan. All of this plus dishes, leading a troop of Brownie Girl Scouts, shuffling children to school and activities, and showering occasionally. Wish me luck and keep the Diet Coke and Franzia flowing – I’m going to need it.

–Mrs. Wonderful

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Auntie Kesah said,

    I have a TI83+ just sitting around. It’s from when I was in college, so I don’t know how much that technology has changed, but if you want it, let me know.

  2. 2

    You spent how much?! Wait until I tell your husband.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

